Abbie's Astronomy Adventures!!

⁺˚⋆。°✩₊Astronomy blogging (ASTR2110) !!✩°。⋆˚⁺


SOLAR ECLIPSE DAY!!!

Yesterday, (April 08, 2024), a group of friends and I drove up to Vienna, Illinois to observe the solar eclipse in totality. It was one of the best experiences in my life, and I think that getting to see such a beautiful and interesting astronomical phenomena in person is life-changing. Because totality only lasted for a minute or so, I did not feel like trying to take many pictures as the camera does not do it justice!!!! it truly looked like there was a hole in the sky.

is it sunset hour… or is there just an eclipse?? (image credit: me)

It was magical, and especially trippy, that I could see the world get dimmer and feel it getting colder as the Sun got covered up slowly. Observing the Sun slowly get covered with our eclipse glasses was so beautiful. The entire park cheered when the sun got completely engulfed. It looked like sunset hour during totality!!!

HOLE IN THE SKY!!! (image credit: my friend)

I feel so lucky that I got to experience the solar eclipse this year. This might be a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, unless I get to see the next one in 20 years.

me watching the sun get covered!!! (image credit: my friend)


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started